This project is read-only.

padenautil parallelization

Feb 22, 2012 at 7:54 PM
Edited Mar 5, 2012 at 7:55 PM

Hey,

I just started playing aorund with Padena. In the Technical guide is stated that Step 1,2 GraphConstruction is parallelized but I can't see this  in the TaskManager. While PadenaUtil.exe prints this:

Step1&2: Create Kmer and Graph - Start time: 2/22/2012 11:31:34 AM

315947 sequence(s) processed.

the number of threads is between 6 - 7 and barely one CPU is used.

What do  I miss here?

Thanx

Jan

Feb 22, 2012 at 11:07 PM

Not all steps of PADENA are parallelized, but de Bruijn graph construction is.

We use the Task Parallel Library (TPL), which is the more sophisticated of the Parallal Extensions methods (the other being parallel for/foreach). TPL looks at workload and processor availability before scheduling threads on multiple processors, so not all workloads will result in the pattern you are looking for in Task Manager.

All I can suggest is to load your machine with other tasks or try bigger workloads, then you will see more activity.

Simon

Feb 23, 2012 at 5:03 AM
Edited Feb 23, 2012 at 5:07 AM

Here's a little more info, first let me issue a disclaimer: I am not the author of the Padena code, and do not know all the ins and outs of it, but I have gone through the code base in the past to understand what it was doing - here's my recollection.