Making Dot plot

Mar 21, 2013 at 10:21 AM
Edited Mar 21, 2013 at 11:18 AM
I want to make a Dot plot program ( specific Dot-plot of bioinformatic) in which two complete genome can be aligned. The GUI of that dot-plot should be rich enough that after alignment specific region on dot plot can be selected ( regions like palindromic line, mini-satellites, conserved regions etc) and sequence of these regions can also be retrieved. After retrieval of sequence, they will be BLAST and functionally annotated. (I can do this post-retrieval part, but I mentioned here for describing my full scenario)

Actually I am new to this library and want to know whether this can be done. Describing overall picture briefly would be much helpful for me and I am intended to do it on WinForms. Thanks in advance :)
Mar 21, 2013 at 1:57 PM
I'm very interested in make visualizations tools for comparative genomics like these, i suggest you something more user friendly to the final users, like WPF, ASP.NET and maybe silverlight. I want to discuss the idea please tell me more about your project.

Regards,

Leo
Mar 21, 2013 at 4:24 PM
Edited Mar 21, 2013 at 4:26 PM
This is great to hear. Actually I have expertise on WinForms and ASP.NET. XAML platform is new for me but I think it will not be hard to learn. Actually Dot plot are common now, but I feel there is some space to develop a Dot plot program with more enhanced features. Like selection of region and do automatic annotation. (by sending selected region's sequence to any BLAST or annotating server).

To be honest this is my final year project of my bachelor in Bioinformatics and I want to make the Dot plot with much enhanced UI which enable user to perform the above work.

I did some research on this topic and found these very useful topics through codeplex discussion:

WPF + Prism + Biology!

Dot-plotting with .NET Bio part 1

Dot-plotting with .NET Bio part 2
Coordinator
Mar 21, 2013 at 6:52 PM
Hi,