Web Services

May 16, 2013 at 1:18 AM
Hi,

I'm starting to know the .net Bio and don't know how to implement the web services for run the blast using web forms.
The sample module 7 the training kit .net Bio was built utilizing WPF and I want to make using web forms.
Can anyone help me, with samples?
Thank you!

Paulo
May 16, 2013 at 1:53 AM
Edited May 16, 2013 at 5:28 PM
Hi Paulo

The most of the .NET Bio proof of concept applications were made in WPF, I think one of the reasons is the estetic and performance aspects, you should learn the bases of WPF, also I think begin with asp.net will be an amazing new approach for .NET Bio, tell me if you want to talk about this. if you use a real MVC model (not the framework, however may work) you could use Bio.Web.Blast Namespace to make a web service, i suggest you too take a look to WebServices Members.

Cheers,

Leo
May 16, 2013 at 3:00 PM
Edited May 16, 2013 at 3:33 PM
Hi, Thank you for help, helped me very. I'm studying the bases the WPF, how your orientation. But how I'm learning about .net Bio still have some doubts the utilize a namespace Bio.Web.Blast. How I'm building a app web about bioinformatic, want to implement a algorithm using web services with blast tool. If you can help me with sample the app web that uses namespace Bio.Web.Blast or with some tips about the subject, I would very.
Very thank for response and tips.

Paulo
Coordinator
May 17, 2013 at 1:35 AM
Hi Paulo,

Here's a very simple example of a Windows Forms application that takes a single sequence and submits it to NCBI BLAST. You can pick the database and program to run (the default is the protein database). If it doesn't work for you, try changing the "UseBrowserProxy" on the configuration passed to the service - I always set it to false since I don't have a proxy server and it will fail.

WinForms BLAST app (julmar.com)

I don't claim any deep understanding of the BLAST services but hopefully this will give you enough to get started!

mark