This project is read-only.

Merging Code From Different Licenses

Apr 23, 2013 at 12:24 AM
Hi all,

I had a quick question for anyone who might have knowledge about software licensing issues. I have recently ported a library from Java to C# for reading variant calling format (or VCF) files. The C# VCF reader is a mixture of my own work and a reading of some Broad developed Java code to do this. The Java code was originally released under the MIT license, and I don't know if it is compatible with the Apache license, or even if it matters once you write it in a different language (essentially, I think it still needs to be open source available for anyone who might want to use it).

It seems like a VCF reader might be a good thing to have in .NET Bio, but I always want to avoid lawyers, does anyone have any thoughts on mixing these things?

Warm wishes,
Nigel
Apr 23, 2013 at 10:21 AM
Hi Nigel,

First: I am not a lawyer and so can't give you legal advice. As you will know though, some open source licenses stipulate that any derivative work be licensed in the same way as the original (GPL is an example) while others allow you to create a derivative work and license in any way you wish (BSD is an example).

It seems to me that you have a number of issues; the first is to determine whether the MIT license is of the former or latter type. If it is like BSD, perhaps you can license your derivative work as you wish - and in that case, you could choose the Apache 2.0 license and contribute your code to the .NET Bio project (which would be fantastic, I know Dong has asked for VCF parsing in the past). The second issue is the extent to which you own the intellectual property of the work you have done, and that depends on the circumstances of your employment - a reasonable guide to what is acceptable to your employer is whatever they have let you do in the past, so if you have previously released work under open source licenses, you are probably fine in that regard.